Basques head to polls in regional elections

For AP Television (Wikono, 25 September 2016)

The 2016 Basque parliamentary elections were held on 25 September to elect the 11th Basque Parliament. The 75 members were elected in districts located across the three Basque provinces (Biscay, Gipuzkoa and Alava) of the Autonomous Community of The Basque Country. The election’s date was set up a month ahead of schedule by the current Lehendakari (Basque Prime Minister) Iñigo Urkullu from the Basque Nationalist Party (Partido Nacionalista Vasco – EAJ-PNV). The reason claimed by the Lehendakari to advance the elections was to avoid as far as possible the block and climate of instability in national politics due to the difficulties in forming a government after holding two Spanish general elections in a row. In a domino effect, the regional elections in the Spanish Autonomus Community of Galicia were held simultaneously.

Video in Spanish.


Leave your comment here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s